Rose Noire is Violin-Heavy, Interesting


Hello everyone! I’m back after a particularly rough semester. I’ll tell you, I think I wrote more essays this semester than I ever have in my life. Returning to the blog is an awesome change of pace considering that now I’m writing about something I actually care about.

Today, I’m reviewing the debut album by the gothic duo Rose Noire, Apocalypse. I became fascinated by this duo when I happened upon their song Alert during a recent YouTube-trolling session. You guys thought that I dropped off the face of the Earth, didn’t you? Ha! I’ve still been lurking around. I’m just not as in the loop in the VK scene as I ought to be.

I then set my sights on the CM for the upcoming album, Apocalypse. The previews sounded so good, I couldn’t wait to listen to the album!

Before I proceed, I’ll give you a bit of background information about Rose Noire. The group consists of vocalist Louie and violinist Jill. They play gothic/neoclassical music with a modern twist, combining elements of other genres such as metal and hip hop. Yeah. It’s gonna be a wild ride.

The main complaint I had with Apocalypse is that the violin is overkill. It’s so loud you can barely hear Louie’s singing. Even worse is that I can’t tell if that was their intent. Another bad thing is that Jill never adds much variation to her violin playing. It’s the same couple of bars being played over and over and that can get annoying really fast. The violin drowns out both the vocals and the “backdrop” which is usually a sound contrasting with the gothic sound of the violin, for example an industrial rock-style riff. The cruelest irony is that the final track is called Ears which is precisely what will be hurting after being screamed at by a violin for roughly fifty-two minutes.

I understand that Rose Noire’s main aim is to experiment, and that is never a bad thing. One song in particular where their experimentation worked quite well was Royal Slaves, which has the violin (of course) not entirely drowning out the vocals and the whole thing plays on a dream-like background. I was pleased with this song, and it’s a gem among a bunch of other duds.

I would still recommend this group just because they have a good concept going. I hope that for their sophomore album, they can refine their sound a little more.

~Alisa~

Still to come: My reviews of D’s phenomenal In the Name of Justice single and SID’s fantastic Ranbu no Melody!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sakurayume's Collection

Leave a Reply

