Showing Some Love for the B-Sides


I apologize to anyone who might have been awaiting my review of immi’s “Alice.” I promise, it will be done in due time. I have decided to make a post which isn’t exactly a review, but more of a ranking kind of thing. I think I might do some of these at random because I love talking about music as a whole, not just one album or single at a time.

If you recall from earlier posts, I am not a huge fan of b-sides. Normally I find they lack quality and depth, but once in a blue moon you find a real gem. Here are three of my favorite b-sides, which I think outshine their a-sides. Read on:

23:30 – Perfume: Hmmm, 11:30 P.M. is kind of a strange time for Perfume to be singing about, but no matter what time you listen to it, this b-side from “One Room Disco” is sure to delight. The song fits the whole late-night theme it is trying to convey. Its smooth, relaxing, and loungey. The vocals are adorable and not too electronic, like we are used to when listening to Perfume’s other work. Nothing about this song is over-the-top and that’s why I’m so obsessed with it. Its a refreshing change from other Perfume songs.

Tsukiyo Koi Kaze- Ikimono Gakari: This is the second b-side from the single “Akaneiro no Yakusoku.” I would venture a guess that this song is widely overlooked because its barely two and a half minutes long. The song makes me think of swimming on a warm summer evening. The instrumentals give off watery nighttime vibes, and Kiyoe tones down her vocals significantly to sing this one.

And now, for my favorite b-side ever…

Suddenly- Gackt: This song was found on the single “Lost Angels.” Don’t get me wrong, “Lost Angels” was amazing, but my issue with it was the length. I never like when epic songs are incredibly long because at that point I find them to be over-the-top. I want a song like that to leave me wanting more, not waiting for it to be over. At 5 minutes and 33 seconds, “Suddenly” is also insanely long, but as it is not nearly as dramatic as “Lost Angels,” I find this acceptable. I love almost everything about this song and it sounds like it would have been right at home on “Diabolos.” I did, however, find two flaws with the song. The first was the “dial-up Internet connection” noise in the beginning of the song. It felt out of place and screamed “MIRRORCLE WORLD!!!” The second was the return of that infamous guitar riff that has been in nearly every Gackt song since “Jesus.” You know the one. Hopefully someone else has noticed it…

~Alisa~

Let’s talk about your top three b-sides! Leave a comment!

8 Comments

Filed under Sakurayume's Collection, Special Articles

8 responses to “Showing Some Love for the B-Sides

  1. I have to agree– Suddenly is a completely underrated b-side across the board. Although the length of the LOST ANGELS single may have contributed to making ‘Suddenly’ as well as ‘No Reason’ both completely under-noticed, both b-sides are terrific. The entire single felt like a tip-of-the-hat to G’s earlier work, which charmed a vet fan like me.

    Top three b-sides?
    1.S.T.F.U off of girugamesh’s Crying Rain single is sickeningly addictive and refreshing (and short…talk about leaving someone wanting more.)
    2. DIVE off of B’z’s Ichibu to Zenbu
    3. Freedom from abingdon boys school’s STRENGTH. . Although kind of low-key, Freedom is motivating, inspirational, with some insanely catchy English lyrics. Much respect to these guys. The bold assertion of my opinion: Greatest rock band on earth.

  2. Your review of Tsukiyo Koi Kaze is exactly what I would have wrote, and I love that track to death. I agree with it having a night time watery feel~

    I can only think of one other B-Side, and that would be “love regrets” by sifow (an old track from like, 2007)
    It’s kind of trance, with a watery feel (lol), and it has this deep underbass that thrums with the music and her style of talking/singing. A definite listen, for me 😀

  3. 23:30 is so relaxing ❤ I listen to it's instuemntal a lot to unwind

  4. Going to have to agree with what you said about 23:30, the a-side is seriously overhyped for no good reason (IMO, anyway), it was nice to hear something a little different for the b-side, even if my relationship with it has been kind of love-hate. It’s better than Negai, anyway.

    Though two other b-sides that top the a-side of a single would have to be FELL IN LOVE WITH A GIRL from immi’s latest EP (I’m dead serious here, hopefully it counts), and Pump it Up! from BONNIE PINK’s “Kane wo Narashite” single.

  5. Miss E

    It’s funny because I love b-sides just as much as the a-sides (sometimes even more). And as much as I like Tsukiyo Koi Kaze, I’m gonna have to say that Nokori Kaze is ikimono-gakari’s best b-side. I can’t even describe how freaking awesome that song is.

    Some of my favorite b-sides are “Mafuyu no Seiza” from Yuna Ito’s “Koi wa groovyx2” single, “LOST emotion in DARKNESS” from hitomi’s “GO MY WAY” single, Heart-shaped chant off of Nana Mizuki’s “SECRET AMBITION” single and “Nohara” by FictionJunction. It’s on their “Toki no Mukou Maboroshi no Sora” single.

    For some reason, I’m surprised that no one’s mentioned Seventh Heaven by Perfume. =)

  6. Some of my favorites are Matsushita Yuya’s Mr. Broken Heart, NEWS’ Best Friend, and moumoon’s Hallelujah.

Leave a Reply

